The Stabilize Ecconomy of Cape Verde

Politics, Law, Constitution of Ghana

Ghana has a unitary presidential constitutional republic democratic government. The country is led by a president who serves as the head of state and head of the government. The political system of Ghana has a parliamentary multi-party system and former alternating military occupation. Ghana first declared its independence from the United Kingdom on March 6, 1957. Following alternating military and civilian governments, the Ghana military government gave way to the Fourth Republic of Ghana after presidential elections and parliamentary elections in late 1992. The current constitution of Ghana was established on April 28, 1992. The 1992 constitution of Ghana divides powers among a Commander-in-Chief of the Ghana Armed Forces, parliament, cabinet, council of state, and an independent judiciary. Election of the Government of Ghana happens after every four years. Since the country’s independence, it has been a founding member of the Non-Aligned Movement. Ghana is also an active member of the United Nations and the African Union. The incumbent president of Ghana is Nana Akufo-Addo who assumed office on January 7, 2017. He is the fifth president of the Fourth Republic of Ghana. The incumbent vice president is Mahamudu Bawumia.